Stuffed peppers again

The Kandil dolma peppers are doing so well that I picked 20 of them, all big enough to stuff, at the same time.  This meant that I was able to re-create a dish that has stayed in my memory since I was a teenager in Istanbul in the 1960s and saw a huge metal dish of stuffed peppers in the open window of a restaurant in a narrow street in the old city.

IMGP1847

Into a bowl of cooked rice I mixed chopped garlic, oregano leaves, 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon, 2 tablespoons of chopped pine kernels and 3 tablespoons of raisins.  I put the mixture into the peppers, having removed the seeds from the centres.  In a large metal pan I added tomato purée mixed with water up to half-way up the peppers, poured olive oil over the tops of the peppers, brought it all to the boil and simmered for about an hour and a quarter, covered for the first hour.  The taste, sight and smell of them is almost as good as I remember! Most of them are now in the freezer ready for when we have summer visitors.

7 thoughts on “Stuffed peppers again

  1. The peppers look great, am thinking I should try this using my long thin peppers. I know it won´t be quite the same, but it´s a new way to cook them. I am also fascinated by these snippets you drop in about your childhood – sounds wonderful and exotic!

Leave a Reply

