Little Italy in Sussex

Spending a few days in the south of England for family reasons, I found a Mediterranean haven for supper in an Eastbourne restaurant with welcoming olive trees in pots outside the door. We ate a delicious dish of spaghetti with meatballs in tomato sauce (which I only remembered to photograph when it was nearly finished) and drank a bottle of the Sicilian house red – nothing special but it went well with the food. I want to try to make the meatballs when I get home. They seemed to be spiced with nutmeg.

Spaghetti with meatballs

For dessert we had Tartufo classico – which was very good, but not quite as special as the version (with concentrated liqueur sauce) we used to eat at the excellent Verdi’s, by the sea at Mumbles near Swansea. And, of course, espresso coffee just like we make at home. When I look at the grey English Channel, though, I long for the Mediterranean light and home.

I probably won’t have much time for commenting over the next couple of days, but I’ll catch up with other blogs when I get home.

4 thoughts on “Little Italy in Sussex

  1. I think there is quite a community of Italians in Sussex! My parents (Italian Dad) have found a lovely Italian restaurant they go to often when they are down in Bexhill on Sea….can´t remember the name though! Hope your trip goes well and we´ll see you back here again soon.

Leave a Reply

