Flavours in Cardiff

While I was in Cardiff I enjoyed two very different and both excellent versions of the traditional Welsh dish, cawl, one in a café, posted the other day, and one made by my daughter and Lo Jardinièr as an introduction to Wales for a Catalan visitor on his first trip there.  As promised, I will post a recipe for cawl – maybe for St David’s Day on 1 March – but for now I just wanted to record some of the many delicious flavours and dishes that delighted us during our stay.  Mostly cooked by our daughter, there was her Scandinavian potato and anchovy dish:

1potato

a beautifully arranged ‘flower’ of endive leaves with blue cheese, red pepper and walnuts:

2endive

prawn and chorizo gumbo – a collaboration between our daughter and her partner – with hom-emade corn bread

3gumbo

4cornbread

followed by lemon Bakewell tart:

5lemontart

Out to Sunday lunch in Cardiff Bay, we ate in Bosphorus, a restaurant built out over the water that reminded me of similar occasions many years ago in Istanbul over the real Bosphorus, with very authentic Turkish food, including sucuk, slices of beef sausage,

6sucuk

spicy fried lamb’s liver, the flavour of which always conjures up my teenage years in Turkey for me

7liver

and an amazing dish of kofte, lamb meatballs, wrapped in unleavened bread:

8sultan kebab

And then there was the evening when our daughter with the help of her cousin, my nephew, prepared homemade salmon and ricotta ravioli:

9ravioli1

10ravioli2

11ravioli2

12ravioli3

13ravioli4

There was a lovely lunch of vegetable soup (not shown) followed by cheese and an artichoke and olive salad:

14cheeseand salad

And daughter and Lo Jardinièr collaborated again to make a special Valentine’s Day apple pie:

15valentines apple

A quick glance up and down the main road near our daughter’s house showed that we hadn’t nearly exhausted the culinary possibilities of this wonderfully multicultural city:  within a few metres of each other there were a Polish grocery, a Balti restaurant, a bakery that has been there for a hundred years and is probably the oldest of these business with the possible exception of the Italian café (a common sight in much of south Wales), and, finally in the row in my photo below, a Sicilian pizzeria.

16cowbridgerd

On the other side of the city there’s a wonderful street where I’ve been to middle eastern, Turkish, Iranian and Japanese restaurants.  With its history as an important port over the past 200 years, many different groups from all over the world have been attracted to Cardiff and have contributed to the mix of flavours, languages and cultures that makes it such an exciting place to visit, even if it weren’t for the delicious food and warm welcome we always get at the home of our daughter and her partner.

8 thoughts on “Flavours in Cardiff

  1. What a culinary extravaganza! If I had to choose only one to sample — and this should come as no surprise — I’d select the salmon ravioli. They sound wonderful! A close second would be the potato & anchovy bake. Your daughter is obviously quite the cook. I’d no idea Cardiff was so cosmopolitan. Best keep its light under a bushel lest the tourist hordes descend.

  2. Your photos are wonderful… and I love the pasta drying on the chair. I use my x-c ski poles, usually, since I have not needed them as ski poles since I moved to Texas 😉 And, what a beauuuuutiful pie as well. Mmmmmm…

  3. What a wonderful menagerie of tastes there! Can you tell me, Teleri, how to grow the endive so common in France and which appear in your photos in Wales too. I cannot imagine that they dig them up and put them in buckets of sand all winter! It seems to be avaiable all year round in the markets and shops. There must be an easier way. I soooooo love them but they are unheard of here, although I have found Belgian endive seeds and think this is it, but needs the overwintering bucket trick.

    • We grew them once and they do need to be earthed up – covered completely – all winter. Our neighbour kept his in a bucket of sand. If you don’t cover them they stay dark green, so I’m afraid that’s what you have to do! the Belgian endive seeds are probably the right ones for it – good luck!

Leave a Reply

