Going back 300 million years

This morning I had an interesting trip to the viewpoint near the ancient church above Roquessels, the village where we buy wine, with a geologist who is going to give a lecture to our Cercle Occitan about the interesting and unusual variety of rocks and soils that make up the terroir for vine-growing in this area.  I’ve been asked to take photos to illustrate his talk and I’ll be able to tell you more about what he has to say next week when I’ve heard it all, but it was fascinating listening to him describe what we saw today, pointing out small details that I might not have noticed as well as the broad sweep of landscape.  It wasn’t a good time to photograph the view down towards the sea, so I shall have to go back later in the day when the light is better, but I think you can see what an impressive vista it is and see the sea sparkling in the distance.

I’m always interested in human impact on landscape, so I couldn’t resist taking a photo of the roofs of the village houses below us, built this way and that – i gam o gam as we say in Welsh – to protect from the heat and, in earlier days, from attack.

 And beside the road leading to Mas Rolland we found these fossils, relatively recent according to the geologist – a mere 25 to 30 million years old.

5 thoughts on “Going back 300 million years

  1. I have fossils (a very few) in the stone of my front porch. This part of Texas was the ocean floor once too, and you can see it in the limestone cliffs near Austin. I love your photos… tell us more about your Cercle Occitan, please!

  2. I read with interest your blog on the landscape and geology of the area . I live in Vailhan and have noticed the wide variety of geology in this particular area of the Herault which is studied throughout he world. I called in the geology exhibition in the old part of Pezenas today and had a chat (in my poor French ) with the lady and gentleman who man the display . Do you know where i can find out more about the rocks in Vailhan Peyne valley , I have looked on line at various academic articles / studies but would like a good book or article preferably with photographs . Unfortunately my French language skills are not good enough to sit through any lecture in French .

Leave a Reply

