Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Sant

It’s Saint David’s Day but our daffodils in the garden aren’t out yet because it’s been too dry for them and they’re not really suited to the Mediterranean climate.  I’ve bought some forced bulbs in pots for the occasion.  Happy Saint David’s Day to all!

IMGP0208

I know I’ve promised to give the recipe for cawl but that will have to wait until tomorrow when I’ll be cooking it for 40 people at our Cercle Occitan evening in the village.  In the meantime here’s the recipe for another Welsh speciality:

Welsh cakes

(makes about 20)

250 grams flour

125 grams butter

75 grams sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

a pinch of salt

1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

125 grams raisins or currants

milk to mix

Mix the sugar, flour, spices, salt and bicarbonate of soda, cut the butter into small pieces and rub into the flour.  I do this in a food processor.  Add the egg and then the raisins and mix in.  I do this in a bowl by hand as the food processor would cut up the fruit.  Then add enough milk to make a dough that you can roll out like pastry.

Roll the dough out to a thickness of about 5 mm and cut in rounds using a glass or biscuit cutter.  Heat a cast-iron bakestone or frying pan, grease with butter and cook the Welsh cakes until they are lightly browned on both sides.

IMGP0195

You can serve them as they are, still hot from the maen or bakestone, or leave them to cool and dust them with sugar.  They can also be spread with salty Welsh butter…..although I can’t buy that here!  Although a thick frying pan will work just as well, I do like to get out this maen occasionally.  It’s a family heirloom which belonged to my great-grandmother.

Now I have to start peeling the vegetables for tomorrow’s cawl.

6 thoughts on “Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Sant

  1. Happy St David´s Day to you too – I´m so glad you reminded me as you´ve reminded me of my grandad who was from North Wales and he always wore a little daffodil with great pride on this day. I have some in my garden – thy seem to like the mountain air – so I am going out right now to cut one in his memory.

  2. Got so carried away reminiscing that I forgot to say I love this recipe, I really enjoy Welsh cakes and I love that you are able to cook them on your great grandmother´s maen. Hope all goes well for the big meal!

  3. I think it’s wonderful that you not only have your great-grandmother’s maen but that you still use it. I, too, have a few pieces from now departed family members and using them always brings a smile. I’m a tactile type and holding one of these pieces is a very real connection with the Past. I’m looking forward to learning about cawl tomorrow. 🙂

  4. I love welsh cakes on the griddle, I lost my griddle on one of the shifts and have never found another one. And you call it a maen?! fantastic.. i must find another one.. Good luck with the cawl, we’ll be back! c

Leave a Reply

