Suddenly it’s spring

The rain we had last week has made a big difference to everything in the garden.  The broad beans are growing, the second sowing of these and the mangetout peas are emerging from the earth, the ground is soft enough to dig.

The bay trees are flowering

IMGP1039

A brimstone butterfly was fluttering from flower to flower on the aubretia, folding its lovely leaf-shaped wings as it hovered over each one.

IMGP1053

IMGP1050

I found enough wild rocket to add some extra flavour to the sandwiches we ate in the sun:

IMGP1045

And we picked enough wild asparagus to make a first course at supper this evening:

IMGP1072

With the lighter evenings since the weekend, I even managed to catch just enough daylight to photograph them once they were cooked and served with a little salt and some olive oil milled in the village:

IMGP1077

8 thoughts on “Suddenly it’s spring

  1. I have never seen wild asparagus, I only know that ours in the garden have not done a thing as yet. I must get my rocket seed in as well, I have also not seen wild rocket here, but then maybe I do not know what I am looking for! Take care Diane

Leave a Reply

