Spring Sunday

butterfly-1

 

This butterfly was drying out its wings in the sunshine this morning, before we went home to lunch. A few very tasty wild asparagus spears with bread made with flax seeds:

asparagus-2

 

and pot-roasted chicken legs with leeks (the last of this winter’s from the garden) and jambon cru. I cooked the leeks with an onion and a few sliced garlic cloves in olive oil until they were soft, put a layer of slices of cured ham some sprigs of wild thyme and then the chicken legs and a thinly sliced carrot on top, and added a good glassful of white wine, salt and pepper.After simmering it for about an hour we ate it with orzo, a rice-shaped pasta that went very well with the winey, chicken sauce.

chicken and leeks-3

 

Another sign of spring is the appearance of borage flowers on the edges of vineyards and on walls. In the past I’ve made a kind of Turkish börek, filo pastry parcels stuffed with cheese and lightly cooked borage leaves. Don’t eat them raw as they’re very prickly. This year I want to make a version of the borage and walnut ravioli we bought a couple of weeks ago at an Italian stall in Clermont-l’Hérault market. If it works, I’ll post the recipe!

borage-4

8 thoughts on “Spring Sunday

  1. What a nice meal. We live continents apart but I feel so synced to your seasonal rhythms. We like our borage blossoms in our salads. Tho the thought of them in ravolis leaves me happy. Our dinner tonight was a basil pesto gleaned from the greenhouse. Really fresh and tasty. We had a lovely spring day today, but expect cool temps (36F)tonight…tenuous for the tomatoes seedlings. Belated happy birthday greetings , that meal looked memorable too!
    Teri

  2. I honestly can taste that wonderful chicken, so done ‘my way’ also, right across a couple of continents and a few big, big ponds! Thank you for the lovely read . . .

  3. This is a lovely post and it’s so nice to see both butterflies and blossoms have returned to your area. I must say, though, your mention of walnut ravioli has really caught my attention. I don’t doubt that you’ll be able to recreate the dish — or make one better. I’m looking forward to seeing the recipe. 🙂

  4. I hope it works (I bet it will) and I look forward to the recipe. I sauteed nettles (don’t eat them raw either – yikes!!) and “packaged” them in phyllo… you make me hungry!! Mmmm…

Leave a Reply

