Gnocchi at last!

I’m very pleased with myself today, because I’ve managed to make gnocchi and it’s all thanks to Chicago John at From the Bartolini  kitchens. Many years ago I made gnocchi a couple of times, more or less successfully, and then once or twice it was a disaster – the gnocchi dissolved in the cooking water leaving me with a sort of thin potato soup! This put me off and I didn’t try again until I saw Chicago John’s post the other day, which gave a detailed step-by-step recipe. I followed this exactly, for the gnocchi themselves although I made a different sauce, and IT WORKED! I think the secret of success with this recipe is baking rather than boiling the potatoes, so that they are much drier than when I’ve made gnocchi before following recipes that advised boiling them.

gnocchi-1

John served his gnocchi with gorgonzola and cream sauce, which sounds delicious, but I didn’t have either gorgonzola or cream so I served mine with oregano and hazelnut pesto and shaved Parmesan. I put half the gnocchi I’d made in the freezer so there’s a ready-made meal for another day too, maybe with a cheese sauce made with Roquefort as I probably won’t find gorgonzola here. Thank you very much, Chicago John!

gnocchi-2

9 thoughts on “Gnocchi at last!

  1. Wonderful – I’m so going to make his gnocchi as have had similar “gnocchi through the colander and straight down the plug hole” experiences! Roquefort sounds good to me. Bizarrely we can easily get gorgonzola here! Yours look fabulous…

  2. Hello: I too am planning to make John’s potato gnocchi over the weekend . . . may I throw another hat in the ring 🙂 ! I do not oft use potatoes, but when I need them for something like gnocchi, I steam them – so eay, so foolproof!!! One does not loose any food value into the water, one does not dry them out . . . I did ask the gal on the veggie section this am for the most appropriate potatoes, so we’ll see how we go! Have a good weekend all you gnocchi makers 😀 !

  3. I’m so glad to read that you were successful. You’re probably right about boiling the potatoes. I never understood why many boil them. The added moisture can’t be good. By the way, I bet that hazelnut pesto of yours was delicious. That must have been some meal!
    Thank you for mentioning my blog and recipe. That was very kind of you.

  4. When I first learned to make gnocchi it wasn’t such a great success either until my mother-in-law told me to just add an egg in the mixture. It worked, sort of, but I think these italian mamas just have it in their genes to turn out great potato dumplings. Me, it took several attempts before my husband ok’d the results.

Leave a Reply

